Lost In Translation

“For I know the plans I have for you, declares the LORD, plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you a future and a hope” (Jeremiah 29:11 New KJV).

Jeremiah 29:11 is a foundation scripture that has allowed me to build my faith, hopcanstockphoto9484446e,
trust and love of the presence of God in my past, present and future. I have heard several sermons on this passage of Old Testament Scripture and I have read it in several different translations, the original Greek translation remains my preferred and favorite translation; “For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, saith the Lord, thoughts of peace, and not of evil, to give you an expected end” (Jeremiah 29:11 KJV).

Anyone who reads The Holy Bible will soon discover it is filled with words that we are free to interpret as we wish or we can simply accept these glorious words for what they are and what they mean. The Old Testament Scriptures and New Testament Gospel of Jesus Our Christ are the Divine Words of God, spoken to and recorded by Men and Women of God for our salvation (deliverance). In the past I have contended that no written words, message or instructions are self-explanatory, however, as a bilingual person I have learned just how wrong I had been. I will not debate the advantages of one translation of the Words of God over another or which is right or wrong, I have accepted the context and content of the Word for what it is and no argument will change that.

For clarification purposes the word “future” appears in the Old Testament zero times. However, the word “expected” appears once, and once is enough for me. The implications of the definition of these two words are important because they are diametrically opposed one to the other. Future, has its origin in the Latin word “futurus” defined as: about to be or that is to be. Although, expected has a Latin origin in the word “exspectare” it is defined as: to look forward, to look forward to the coming or occurrence of, to consider probable or certain. Here’s the difference and why they are opposed one to the other, future is an adjective—it describes something, expected is the past tense of expect and it is an action verb—something is going to happen. God is a god of certainty! What do you want from God, a description or an action?

In this particular passage of Scripture God is speaking directly to His children, “For I know the thoughts I think toward” who? You, child of God! It doesn’t get any better than that and no translation is required, it is what it is. “Thoughts of peace and not of evil,” oh what a relief it is to know that my Father God is not going to hurt me. It is the last three words of this passage that moves my heart and soul deeply every time it comes to mind, and it comes often. God wants to give me more after all He has given me; faith, hope and love. Wait for it, He wants to give me “an expected end,” meaning something is going to happen. God is a god of action, expected is the past tense of a godly action, it is a done deal folks! God has already created your future, what is to be, will be. Hallelujah!

canstockphoto7726634This end that God is speaking of is the end He has already prepared for me and for you, we are to be His believing and obedient children. God says have faith in my thoughts “for my thoughts are higher than your thoughts,” put your hope and trust in Me “for I have sworn by myself and cannot lie,” and you shall have the expected end (future) that I, “the Great I Am, that I Am” expect, you can look forward to it with certainty because I LOVE You! All you have to do is align your thoughts with My thoughts, set your expectations upon My expectations, submit your will to My will and your “expected end” (future) shall surpass all expectations. Go and bless somebody with the word of God. Amen.

Grady Norman Greene, Minister of the Gospel of Jesus Our Christ

About The Third Cross Congregation of Jesus Our Christ

I am a "Man of God, With No Regrets" in service to Him through service to His people as a Minister of the Gospel of Jesus Our Christ. I pray to the Father: "Lord let me live in service to You, die in peace with You, and be raised up in Christ Jesus to be spend Eternity with You." Amen. Grady Norman Greene Presiding Minister of the Gospel of Jesus Our Christ The Third Cross Congregation of Jesus Our Christ
This entry was posted in Home and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.