Singing and Dancing

Singing and Dancing

“I call to remembrance my song in the night”(Psalm 77:6).

I remember reading somewhere of a song bird that would not sing the melody his owner desired while his cage was full of light. The bird would sing only if the cage was covered and engulfed in the darkness and the light of day hidden. Our Christian joImageurney provides us with many opportunities to be engulfed in darkness thereby provoking our souls to sing a tearful and dark song unto the Lord. Unfortunately, too many good Christian people never learn to sing until after the darkness of distress has passed.

More often than not wherever we find singing we find dancing, sometime happy dancing other instances dances of distress. Yesterday, while eating breakfast I was listening to my favorite local jazz station and one of my favorite happy songs “Hey Young World” by jazz musician Gerald Albright came blaring across the radio. The song moved me, it makes me happy every time I hear it, I placed the fork on the plate and started to dance my little happy dance. I danced because I was feeling so good and grateful for all that the God of Light has done for this poor soul that once walked in darkness.

There were no words to the music so I added my own; “Thank you Father God, thank you, you have been soImage good to me. From the depths of my soul in Jesus’s name I thank you for all of your kind and generous provisions!” I repeated the words until the song ended, and sat down to finish breakfast. It dawned on me that I was no longer hungry, my heart and soul were filled with the light of the Lord and I started my day singing and dancing. Oh what joy there is in loving the Lord, He surely loves me.

I sincerely doubt if a Christian soul can really know the love of God and the joy it offers in its richness, comfort and provisional completeness during moments of darkness. Only light can drive out the darkness of the gloom of night. Weeping and sorrow may hold the soul hostage in the night, but joy—unspeakable joy—comes in the morning. Don’t be a Christian song bird, waiting for the darkness before you sing. Wake up, get up and dance to the glory of the Lord, He is our joy.

Grady Norman Greene, Minister of the Gospel of Jesus Our Christ

About The Third Cross Congregation of Jesus Our Christ

I am a "Man of God, With No Regrets" in service to Him through service to His people as a Minister of the Gospel of Jesus Our Christ. I pray to the Father: "Lord let me live in service to You, die in peace with You, and be raised up in Christ Jesus to be spend Eternity with You." Amen. Grady Norman Greene Presiding Minister of the Gospel of Jesus Our Christ The Third Cross Congregation of Jesus Our Christ
This entry was posted in Home and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.