The Visible-Invisible God

“Giving thanks unto the Father, which hath made us meet to be partakers of the inheritance of the saints in light, who hath delivered us from the power of darkness, and hath translated us into the kingdom of his dear Son. In whom we have redemption through his blood, even the forgiveness of sins: Who is the image of the invisible God, the firstborn of every creature”  (Colossians 1:12-15).

In a few days we Christians, Catholics, Jews and others will celebrate Christmas, that one day of the year set aside to give honor and thanks for the birth of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. I have had opportunities, one after the other, to gladly explain or justify why I celebrate Christmas, for me that is an easy one. The more intriguing question that is really being asked lies hid just beneath the surface; why do you believe in a God you cannot see? The follow-up question would be something to the effect; why do you believe God sent His only Begotten Son to earth? And the questions continue from there, one more; how can Jesus and God be the same?

On the surface some believers find it difficult to explain why they believe in God. No one has seen Him face-to-face, touched Him, or smelled Him, yet His fingerprints are everywhere. You must dig beneath the surface where the impossible becomes possible. God is made visible through Jesus Christ. Paul writes that Jesus is “the image of the invisible God” (Colossians 1:15). If you want to know about God, learn about Jesus. If you want to see God, look at Jesus. If you want to please God, follow Jesus. He is God in the flesh! For some believers and non-believers that is a difficult concept to grasp, if you are having trouble doing so, ask yourself why Christmas?

Christmas is a once-a-year opportunity to praise God that He came to us in the person of Jesus Christ. I cannot and will not speak for the masses but I will ask, if one day out of 365 is too much what do you really believe? “Do you not believe that I am in the Father, and the Father in Me? And whatever you ask in My name, that I will do, that the Father may be glorified in the Son” (John 14:10-13). Without God and without Jesus there would be no reason to celebrate Christmas, this is made abundantly clear in the faiths and religions that do not honor Christ as the Son of God or physical manifestation of God on earth.

“For by him were all things created, that are in heaven, and that are in earth, visible and invisible, whether they be thrones, or dominions, or principalities, or powers: all things were created by him, and for him”  (Colossian 1:16). Here in verse 16 Paul paraphrases John 1:1-3; “In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God.” Jesus Christ is the image of the invisible God-Jehovah and the Head of the Church Body. How can this be? And he is before all things, and by him all things consist” (Colossians 1:17). No Jesus, no Christmas. No Jesus, No God. You cannot have one without the other, it is sort of like fingers only on a hand are they fingers.

In a earlier post I quoted my former Pastor saying;Sight is the ability to see what is physical in nature, but vision is the ability to see what is possible in God,” the words have never left me. I can feel the invisible-physical presence of God simply by standing still and looking around. I can see the possibility-visibility of Jesus at any moment of the day simply by looking in a mirror. I see the changes that God, through the words and works of Jesus Christ, has wrought in me and no greater proof is required. He, they, Jehovah and Jesus lives, are visible and invisible because I believe beyond the shadow of a doubt the two are the same and they live in me.

True faith—the faith of the Son of God counts on God, waits for God and believes He exist without seeing Him. I have not seen tomorrow but I believe it is coming, I have never seen air but I breathe it constantly to sustain life in this body. So it is with God and Jesus, we must believe or why celebrate. When we celebrate our faith by faith we need no proof other than God’s Word. He said that Jesus would come and he came, Jesus said he was in the Father and the Father was in him and so it was and so it is.

One day we shall see the invisible God and the visible Son because we have believed, and this faith sustains us this Christmas and every Christmas when everything around us seems to contradict God. “The words that I speak to you I do not speak on My own authority; but the Father who dwells in Me does the works. Believe Me that I am in the Father and the Father in Me, or else believe Me for the sake of the works themselves”  (John 14:12). Be blessed and bless someone in Jesus’ name. Amen.

Grady Norman Greene, Minister of the Gospel of Jesus Our Christ

About The Third Cross Congregation of Jesus Our Christ

I am a "Man of God, With No Regrets" in service to Him through service to His people as a Minister of the Gospel of Jesus Our Christ. I pray to the Father: "Lord let me live in service to You, die in peace with You, and be raised up in Christ Jesus to be spend Eternity with You." Amen. Grady Norman Greene Presiding Minister of the Gospel of Jesus Our Christ The Third Cross Congregation of Jesus Our Christ
This entry was posted in Holy Days and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.