Waiting For God

“All the while my breath is in me, and the Spirit of God is in my nostrils”   (Job 27:3).

I am a bit apprehensive when approached  by missionaries of the door-to-door kind, probably because I have not spent more time going door-to-door to share the Gospel of Jesus Christ with strangers. You never know who is going to answer the door or what their disposition may be. Also, you may not feel comfortable with the doctrine an enthusiastic missionary may wish to share. I truly admire my Jehovah Witness friends who show such a great deal  of courage and devotion to this type of missionary work.

Our Lord and Savior Jesus warned His disciples before sending them out into the world that everyone would not recieve them; “And whosoever shall not receive you, nor hear you, when ye depart thence, shake off the dust under your feet for a testimony against them” (Mark 6:11). My wish is anyone offering the word be received by all.

Recently, I was approached by several missionaries canvassing my neighborhood offering the word and prayer for anyone standing in need. Unashamed, I feel I am always in need of prayer and rarely will I find a justification to refuse an invitation to pray for or with anyone. I found this experience somewhat amusing because I had overheard a portion of the group’s presentation a few minutes earlier as they spoke with a neighbor. Several things said by one of the missionaries had not sat well with me. When we were face-to- face I had to decide if I would challenge them or accept an offer for prayer.

My mother, God bless her soul, invested time and energy teaching me and my siblings good social graces and I make a sincere effort to use them. When asked if I had anything that I would like to pray for I politely said “No, nothing immediate, I’m in a Job state of mind.” I received a  bewildered stare from one of the missionaries as the other said “Praise God.” Then the hammer fell, “What are you waiting for?” another asked. Immediately, I  responded without hesitating, “I am waiting for the Lord; I believe the Lord is going to do what He said all I have to do is patiently wait for Him.”

For there is hope of a tree, if it be cut down, that it will sprout again, and that the tender branch thereof will not cease” (Job 14:7). We hear a great deal about waiting on God. However, I believe strongly there is another side to waiting. When we wait on God, He is waiting until we are ready; when we wait for God, we are waiting until He is ready. Many Christians say and many more believe,  as soon as we meet all the conditions set by God, He will answer our prayers. They say God lives in an eternal now; with Him there is no past nor future; and should we fulfill all He requires in the way of obedience to His commandments, statues and will, immediately our needs would be supplied, our desires fulfilled, and our prayers answered.  

Well, at least they have it half-right. There is much truth in this belief, and yet it expresses only one side of the truth about waiting. Assuredly, God lives in an eternal now, yet He works out His purposes in present time. Any prayer presented before God is like a seed
dropped in the ground. Forces above and below must work upon it, until the true intent of God’s purpose is realized. “Though the root thereof waxes old in the earth and the stock
thereof die in the ground”
(Job 14:8).

What are you doing, are you waiting on or waiting for the Lord? “For they themselves show of us what manner of entering in we had unto you, and how ye turned to God from idols to serve the living and true God; And to wait for his Son from heaven, whom He raised from the dead, even Jesus, which delivered us from the wrath to come” (I-Thessalonians 1:9-10). Blessed are all they that wait for Him for His eyes are upon the ways of man, and He sees all our doings. To Him be glory in the church by Christ Jesus to all generations, forever and ever. Amen.

Grady Norman Greene, Minister of the Gospel of Jesus Our Christ

About The Third Cross Congregation of Jesus Our Christ

I am a "Man of God, With No Regrets" in service to Him through service to His people as a Minister of the Gospel of Jesus Our Christ. I pray to the Father: "Lord let me live in service to You, die in peace with You, and be raised up in Christ Jesus to be spend Eternity with You." Amen. Grady Norman Greene Presiding Minister of the Gospel of Jesus Our Christ The Third Cross Congregation of Jesus Our Christ
This entry was posted in Inspirational and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Waiting For God

  1. Elias Safley says:

    Your words are like bullets, they hit me, you have a great post! Please continue sharing something good like this.
    REPLY: Elias, I know the feeling–they hit me on ocassion as well.

  2. vineandbranchworldministries says:

    You have an awesome blog here, thanks for sharing. Pastor Davis

Comments are closed.