While Celebrating-Forget Not

“My son forget not my law; but let thine heart keep my commandments: For length of days, and long life, and peace, shall they add to thee. Let not mercy and truth forsake thee; bind them about thy neck, write them upon the table of thy heart. So shall thou find favor and good understanding in the sight of God and man” (Proverbs 3:1-4).

Today is August 3, 2011 and it is my Birthday! No balloons and no party, but I will have the cake and ice cream! First things first! Today I praise the Lord God Jehovah and give Him thanks with a sincere and humble heart for the goodness of who He is and the kindness and mercy He has shown me and mine. The benefits of the Grace of God are more precious than gold.

An interesting point about birthdays is that they come and go leaving behind within the human heart a longing for peace, love, and joy. I feel this is true among Christians and non-Christians alike, the desire is the same. When I was much younger I felt that peace, love, and joy would answer my every beck and call. Now that I am older I have found that they did and will not. They come by the Grace of God only and by no other means; they are the fruits found on the tree of wisdom.

According to King Solomon’s writings in Proverbs—Chapter 3, wisdom brings length of days (v. 2), peace (v. 2), favor with God and man (v. 4), strength to your bones (v. 8), honor (v. 16), pleasantness (v. 17), paths of peace (v. 17), confidence in life (v. 26), and freedom from the snares of life (v. 26). The tree of wisdom is not a tree that you can walk up to and pick the low-hanging fruit, no this fruit ripens on the branch over the years of your life.

As a Christian I believe it is safe to think of wisdom as a birthday gift from God the Father that has many benefits. Foolishness on the other hand is a gift from old Beelzebub and it brings harm (v. 29), oppression (v. 31), and shame (v.35). We all long for the benefits of wisdom that is supposed to come with age and protection from the consequences of the foolishness of youth. We must remember wisdom comes with a price and the price is a high one. The price is submission to the will of God and the truth of His Word found in the Holy Scriptures and Gospel of Jesus Our Christ.

Today, I look back over the years and consider the benefits of wisdom, I pray the Lord that I may share in His character for the length of my days and long life should He grant them. Who is like You, O Lord, among the gods? Who is like You, glorious in holiness”  (Exodus 15:11). Every day we should pause to offer praise and thanksgiving trusting in the Lord with all our heart and leaning not to our own understanding. “You are great, O Lord
God. For there is none like You nor is there any God besides You, according to all that we have heard with our ears”
(II-Samuel 7:22).

Birthdays are a reminder that our troubles are temporary, if we believe they are preparing
us for the prize of heavenly glory. Birthdays offer a new hope, the hope that we will be around for the next one. Hope to see things which we have not seen because God has not revealed them to us yet. The hope for wisdom that comes with each birthday that affirms and inspire. A wisdom that affirms the things we see are temporary and allows us to aspire to the hope of glory offered in the unseen. If we forget not God’s law and commit our hearts to keep His commandments from birthday-to-birthday.

David, Solomon’s father, writes; “One generation shall praise Your works to another, and shall declare Your mighty acts.”  That praise is to be directed to God for who He is (His character) and what He has done. Of God’s character, David writes: “The Lord is gracious and full of compassion, slow to anger and great in mercy.”  The Lord is good. Writing of God’s work, he says, “The Lord upholds all who fall, and raises up those who are bowed down;” as well as “Is near to all who call upon Him;” and “Will fulfill the desire of those who fear Him.”  “The Lord preserves all who love Him,” for these reasons, and more I praise Him along with David this day, my birthday and every day.

“For thou desire not sacrifice, else would I give it; thou delights not in burnt offering. The
sacrifices of God are a broken spirit, a broken and a contrite heart—O God, thou will not despise”
(Psalm 51:16-17). I cannot possibly be satisfied with anything less today—each hour, each moment in Christ, thanks to the blessing of the power of the Holy Spirit—than
to WALK WITH GOD. “Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life; and I will dwell in the house of the Lord forever” (Psalm 23:6).

Grady Norman Greene, Minister of the Gospel of Jesus Our Christ

About The Third Cross Congregation of Jesus Our Christ

I am a "Man of God, With No Regrets" in service to Him through service to His people as a Minister of the Gospel of Jesus Our Christ. I pray to the Father: "Lord let me live in service to You, die in peace with You, and be raised up in Christ Jesus to be spend Eternity with You." Amen. Grady Norman Greene Presiding Minister of the Gospel of Jesus Our Christ The Third Cross Congregation of Jesus Our Christ
This entry was posted in Events and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to While Celebrating-Forget Not

  1. Karl Hanible says:

    Well this ones for all of us, so touching

  2. Its your inspiration that drives you to post great things like this, keep it going, we will support you all the way.

Comments are closed.