What Did Jesus Do?

“I am crucified with Christ; nevertheless I live; yet not I, but Christ lives in
me; and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by the faith of the Son
of God, who loved me, and gave himself for me”
(Galatians 2:20).

The Easter holiday season is upon us and Christians, Jews and Muslims around the world will shift their focus toward Jesus’ personal sacrifice two thousand years ago, a central part of the seasonal celebration. I remember the bumper stickers “What Would Jesus Do? from the nineties, my answer was always the same, “I don’t know! But I know what Jesus did He loved me, and gave himself for me,” Every Christian should take a moment daily and consider what Jesus did, why and for whom.

“We rejoice in God through our Lord Jesus Christ, through whom we have now received reconciliation” (Romans 5:11). Christmas is about the birth of Jesus Our Christ and Easter his sacrificial death. Just as we quantify most events in human history we cannot overlook the order of gifts either. Christians rate Jesus’ sacrifice as the greatest gift, and I whole-heartedly agree. The human tendency of rating things implies there have been other major gifts prior to prove the sacrifice of Jesus being crowned the greatest. Maybe, maybe not! I am certain there has not been a greater gift given to this day.

The word speak for itself, Old Testament Scriptures in particular speaks to the delivery of other gifts with abundance and detail. It is in the first chapter of the Book of Genesis, that the foundation of a rating system is irrefutably laid, but often overlooked. The very first gift was given by God on the sixth day of creation; “And God said, Let us make man in our image, after our likeness…. So God created man in his own image, in the image of God created he him; male and female created he them.” (Genesis 1: 26-27 KJV) This gift was given to man, male and female, a very personal gift from God Himself.

You cannot beat God giving, no matter how you try. God never cease to amaze me with how far He is willing to go or how much He is willing to give. Consistently, God exceed every human expectation of Him, specifically His love for us. He could easily stop loving man, especially after Adam and Eve disappointed Him so gravely and so soon. No, that is not His way—“While we were yet sinners Christ died for the ungodly”—He is generous and compassionate continuously giving us another chance. God offers redemption and restoration through what Jesus did on the Cross of Calvary–“Greater love has no man than this.”

The obsession with the question of what would Jesus do is futile, we know what Jesus would do at any given moment, what He always did, He submitted himself totally to the will of the Father. “Only let your conduct be worthy of the gospel of Christ” (Philippians 1:27). Our lone obligation as believers and followers of Jesus Christ is that we show His
image, for many we are as close to Him as they will ever come. Forget the bumper sticker “What Would Jesus Do” and show a cross-less world the sticker on your heart that reads; “I Am Doing What Jesus Want Me To Do.”

“There is therefore now no condemnation to those who are in Christ, who do not walk according to the flesh, but according to the Spirit” (Romans 8:1). Jesus sincerely wants you to do what He did, give something of yourself for and to someone else standing in need, make a personal sacrifice. The very thought that God gave His greatest gift, “He gave His only begotten Son” is reason enough to celebrate Easter every day. “Now to the King eternal, immortal, invisible, to God who alone is wise, be honor and glory forever and
ever. Amen”
(I-Timothy 1:17).

Grady Norman Greene, Minister of the Gospel of Jesus Our Christ

About The Third Cross Congregation of Jesus Our Christ

I am a "Man of God, With No Regrets" in service to Him through service to His people as a Minister of the Gospel of Jesus Our Christ. I pray to the Father: "Lord let me live in service to You, die in peace with You, and be raised up in Christ Jesus to be spend Eternity with You." Amen. Grady Norman Greene Presiding Minister of the Gospel of Jesus Our Christ The Third Cross Congregation of Jesus Our Christ
This entry was posted in Events, Holy Days and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What Did Jesus Do?

  1. Lanie Coco says:

    Is there any chance that you can post here your biography? So that we will know you more

  2. Awesome! Everything I needed summed up in a very short way. In my opinion it’s the most excellent article I have ever seen. Good job!

Comments are closed.