Self Must Die – Part2

“For I have not spoken of myself, but the Father which sent me, he gave me a commandment, what I should say and what I should speak” (John 12:49).

Self: somebody’s own individual interests and welfare, especially when placed before those of other people. There it is folks, Mr. Webster—the dictionary guy’s definition of me, myself and I. Also, known as myself, yourself, himself, herself and one self. In an earlier post I mentioned that I would look at four areas of self that must die for the believer to get closer to God through Jesus Christ; “No one may come to the Father, except through me.” And why is that so? Because the Father and I are one and he who have seen me, has seen the Father.

Self-definition was not a part of Jesus’s mission He knew who He was long before He met any of us or before we will meet him. God confirmed his identity after his baptism by John the Baptist. “This voice came not because of me, but for your sakes” (John 12:30). Many Christians and non-Christians are under the impression we have a right to define ourselves. We can define what it means to be human or holy, male or female, right and wrong. We even define what it means to be part of any group. We are obsessed with self-definition I have to be me, it is all about me.

“So God created man in his own image, in the image of God created He him, male and female created He them” (Genesis 1:27). Self-definition is open rebellion to the will and word of God. You tell me who defined you and what you are to Him and not to yourself. We were created in God’s image and everything about God is holy, so, we must be holy also. How arrogant we have become to believe that we have the right to change what God has ordained. It is our will that we wish to fulfill and not the will of the Creator, for that reason alone, self must die!

“Ask, and it shall be given you. Seek and ye shall find” (Luke 11:9). If you ask for things from this world instead of things from God, you are asking for the wrong things, you are asking from a want of self-definition. The more you strive to define yourself, your personal identity of who and what you are the less you will seek God. “Seek and ye shall find,” one of the great things about our Savior’s words is they are so direct.  Jesus never minced words, He said what He meant and meant every word that He said. If you are looking to define yourself listen to Jesus.

You can never give another person that which you have found, but you can make them hungry for what you have. “For where your treasure is, there will your heart be also” (Luke 12:34). The life of a saint is not devoted to self-definition, but towards knowing Jesus Christ and being identified as one of His. The Spirit of God is determined that we shall be identified with Jesus Christ in every area of life, and it will bring us back to a point over and over until we are. Our Lord identified with the Father even in the most menial of tasks, acknowledging that everything he did was according to the will of Father and not of his own selfish desires.

Is your identity established in Jesus Christ? Do you know him where you are today? If not, you are failing him. We are not here to define ourselves, but to let the world know that we know him and are defined by the Spirit of him living within us. We are defined as Christians, one in him and through him in every set of circumstances we may find ourselves in.  I thank God for blessing you to be a blessing to someone in Jesus’ name.

Grady Norman Greene, Minister of the Gospel of Jesus Our Christ

About The Third Cross Congregation of Jesus Our Christ

I am a "Man of God, With No Regrets" in service to Him through service to His people as a Minister of the Gospel of Jesus Our Christ. I pray to the Father: "Lord let me live in service to You, die in peace with You, and be raised up in Christ Jesus to be spend Eternity with You." Amen. Grady Norman Greene Presiding Minister of the Gospel of Jesus Our Christ The Third Cross Congregation of Jesus Our Christ
This entry was posted in Inspirational and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Self Must Die – Part2

  1. Boarman says:

    Admiring the persistence you put into your website and detailed information you present. It’s awesome to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same old rehashed information. Fantastic read! I’ve saved your site and I’m adding your RSS feeds to my Google account.

  2. I wouldn’t allow any bad comments on this one, this serves a good comment.
    REPLY: I read every comment that is made here, some are a bit disturbing but short-lived. I understand my calling and I know what I believe, I do not do this seeking human approval, only the approval of God who searches my heart.

Comments are closed.