Self Must Die

“That which we have seen and heard declare we unto you, that ye also may have fellowship with us; and truly our fellowship is with the Father, and with his Son Jesus Christ (I-John 1:3).  

I am more convinced today than ever that God is calling each believer to a life of total commitment and dedication. Absolutely dying to self is the only way to total victory and success in service to the Lord Jesus Christ. The Christian worker must never forget that salvation is God’s thought, not a man’s thought, He said that “My thoughts are higher than your thought.” Also, it is reasonable to believe that they are deeper and therefore immeasurable by human standards.

“And these things write we unto you, that your joy may be full” (I-John 1:4). Have you noticed that we rarely hear messages anymore about holiness and sanctification? Perhaps it is because there have been groups who have taught this subject in such a legalistic way that it pushed people away from the church. When I preach I am not proclaiming how man can be saved from hell and be made holy for heaven, I am conveying the good news about God and His Son Jesus Christ.

I believe that the Holy Bible outlines godly principles of holiness and surrender to the will of God which strikes at the very heart of everything we are today and may become in the future. How important is the message of dying to self? The Bible, from cover-to-cover, points us to the simple understanding this is the only way to a victorious life in Christ. The apostle Paul wrote “I die daily” (I-Corinthians 15:31), and spent much of his time teaching the church how to die to self. I never sympathize with the person who says it is difficult to get to God, God is not to blame.

Over and over the Lord ties serving Him with dying to self, attempts at serving Him and serving yourself is an exercise in futility on a grand scale. Self-sacrifice gives you victory over Satan, but self-saving, self-serving or living for self gives Satan victory over you. That is why Jesus talked about dying to self so much. Saving yourself, keeping yourself and protecting yourself ends up letting the devil have victory in your life. You simply cannot serve the Lord effectively and keep self at the same time.

“This then is the message which we have heard of Him, and declare unto you, that God is light, and in Him is no darkness at all”(I-John 1:5). In upcoming posts I will look at several areas of “self-dying” Christians living in a me, myself and I world, must consider when it comes to serving God. We will look at self-definition, self-absorption, self-sufficiency and self-security as starting points in Christian life. I thank God for blessing you to be a blessing to someone in Jesus’ name.

Grady Norman Greene, Minister of the Gospel of Jesus Our Christ

About The Third Cross Congregation of Jesus Our Christ

I am a "Man of God, With No Regrets" in service to Him through service to His people as a Minister of the Gospel of Jesus Our Christ. I pray to the Father: "Lord let me live in service to You, die in peace with You, and be raised up in Christ Jesus to be spend Eternity with You." Amen. Grady Norman Greene Presiding Minister of the Gospel of Jesus Our Christ The Third Cross Congregation of Jesus Our Christ
This entry was posted in Inspirational and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Self Must Die

  1. I just dropped by to read your latest post, and of course you did well.
    REPLY: Thank you for dropping by and thanks for th kind words.

Comments are closed.