And He Said Come

“And Peter answered him and said, ‘Lord, if it be thou, bid me come unto thee on the water” (Matthew 14:28).

Peter must have felt like many of us do today, here I am in the middle of one of life’s storms and I can see what I want to believe is Jesus in the distance, but I’m not sure. So we cry out, Lord is that you? We need to be sure. Human nature will not allow us, in our frail human form, to trust without verifying what we want to believe, even if it is Jesus in the distance or the word of God before our eyes.

“And he said ‘Come.’ And when Peter was come down out of the ship, he walked on the water, to go to Jesus” (Matthew 14:29). Jesus does not say yes to confirm his identity to Peter, and in our Christian lives it is a common occurrence that he does not answer our cries in the affirmative. Jesus said “Come” not yes or wait he said “Come” because that is what he wants us to do, come to him. Stop trying to go your own way, come this way towards me, I have come the greater distance to be with you, now it is your turn to take a few short steps. I am here, “Come to Me.”

Here’s a thought, if I will come to Jesus a couple of things could happen in my life; my life will be brought into accordance with my real desires and I will cease from sin. Have you ever come to Jesus? Watch the stubbornness of your mind and heart when you take that first step, both will do anything to keep you from doing that one simple childlike thing—“Come to Me.” If you really want the personal experience of ceasing from sin, you must step out on the stormy sea of Christian faith and you must go to Jesus.

“But when he saw the wind boisterous, he was afraid, and beginning to sink, he cried saying Lord, save me” (Matthew 14:30). You have answered the call, like Peter you stepped out on faith and you are on our way to Jesus. Then, one single element in your environment distracts you for a split second and you lose your focus on your destination and you look around. Realizing that the wind is boisterously blowing in the wrong direction, fear overcomes you and you start to sink. You cry out “save me” what you are really saying is ‘I cannot go any farther,’ Jesus you have to take the last few steps, “Lord—save me.”

If a believer is going to do anything worthwhile in his Christian life, there will come a time when he must risk everything with a leap of faith. In the spiritual domain Jesus Christ demands that you risk everything you hold by common sense and take that first step toward him. He never said that the journey would be easy, but he assures us that it will be worth it. When Jesus says Come unto Me you are immediately drawn to him. Personal contact with Jesus changes everything. Be brave enough to come and commit yourself to what he says to you.

“And immediately Jesus stretched forth his hand, and caught him, and said unto him, O thou of little faith, wherefore didst thou doubt?” (Matthew 14:31). We do not come to Jesus because of what he can do—that is a selfish response—but responding to “Come unto Me” is a gentle and generous call to life everlasting. Should you start to sink along the way, Jesus is there to catch you. Glory to him who lives and was dead, and behold, he is alive forevermore. Be blessed and bless someone in Jesus’ name. 

Grady Norman Greene, Minister of the Gospel of Jesus Our Christ

About The Third Cross Congregation of Jesus Our Christ

I am a "Man of God, With No Regrets" in service to Him through service to His people as a Minister of the Gospel of Jesus Our Christ. I pray to the Father: "Lord let me live in service to You, die in peace with You, and be raised up in Christ Jesus to be spend Eternity with You." Amen. Grady Norman Greene Presiding Minister of the Gospel of Jesus Our Christ The Third Cross Congregation of Jesus Our Christ
This entry was posted in Events, Inspirational and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to And He Said Come

  1. You have a wise political views in your blog, I recommend this to my friends

Comments are closed.