A Place Called There

“Get thee hence, and turn thee eastward, and hide thyself by the brook Cherith, that is before Jordan. And it shall be, that thou shall drink of the brook; and I have commanded the ravens to feed thee there” (I-Kings 17:3).

 

The prophet Elijah was commanded by God to leave Samaria and go to Israel immediately, get a move on. There was an urgency to the command that was not disclosed to the prophet, but God knew the circumstances. Elijah was not to pack a bag, bring a snack or make any provisions for the journey or his stay. He was given no sign as to his mission upon arrival; he was to get there as soon as possible, if not sooner. Total and prompt obedience to the command get away from here, at any cost, by any road, go now.

 

I, like many of my fellow Christians, work hard to be obedient; when Jesus says—“Come” we simply come; when He says—“Let go,” we let go, when He says “Trust in God in this matter” we do trust. God has worked out the provisions, we will not starve, die of thirst or have need of anything He has worked out the details, and we have only to go — get there.

 

There is a place that God want us to be, a place where He may reveal Himself to us. By the discipline of obedience we get to the place where Elijah had to go, where I see who God is, Jehovah-Jireh, My Provider. I will never have a real God until I have come face-to-face with Him in Jesus Christ. Then I know that in all the world, my god, there is none like Thee, there is none but Thee.

 

“And dwell there I have commanded a widow woman there to sustain thee” (I-Kings 17:4). I believe strongly that God will place the right person in our path when we need them the most and that He places us in people’s path when they need us the most. The promises of God are of no value to us until by obedience we understand the nature of God. We read some things in the Bible three hundred and sixty-five times and they mean nothing to us, then suddenly we see what God means, we are there.

“The widow woman was there” (I-kings 17:10). All the promises of God in Him (Jesus) are yea, and in Him Amen. The “yea” must be born of obedience, when by the obedience of our lives we say “Amen” to a promise, and then the promise is ours. God has put Jesus there, in our lives, to make sure that when we arrive everything we need to sustain us is there.

 

There is a place where we have one hundred percent total reliance on God, Elijah made it there, where he was in touch with the very nature of God. Our goal is God Himself, at any cost, dear Lord, by any road, through Your Son Jesus. May you be blessed by the Lord who made heaven and earth and bless someone in Jesus’ name. Amen.

 

Grady Norman Greene, Minister of the Gospel of Jesus Our Christ

About The Third Cross Congregation of Jesus Our Christ

I am a "Man of God, With No Regrets" in service to Him through service to His people as a Minister of the Gospel of Jesus Our Christ. I pray to the Father: "Lord let me live in service to You, die in peace with You, and be raised up in Christ Jesus to be spend Eternity with You." Amen. Grady Norman Greene Presiding Minister of the Gospel of Jesus Our Christ The Third Cross Congregation of Jesus Our Christ
This entry was posted in Inspirational and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Place Called There

  1. This topic could be a challenge to everybody

  2. Keep me updated in this post, I want to continue what I have started, learning

Comments are closed.