Lord I Have Misgivings

“For the eyes of the Lord run to and fro throughout the whole earth, to show himself strong on behalf of those whose heart is loyal toward him” (2-Chronicles 16:9).  

God is looking for a man, or woman, whose heart will always be set on Him, and who will trust Him for all He desires to do. God is eager to work more mightily now than He ever has through any soul. The clock of the centuries points to the eleventh hour. The world continues to wait to see what God can do through one consecrated soul. Not the world alone, but God Himself is waiting for one, who will be more devoted to Him than any who has ever lived; who will be willing to be nothing that Christ may be all. 

How often we say to ourselves’ “I am impressed with the wonder of what God says, but He cannot expect me really to live it out in the details of my life!” Each of us thinks of God in this way about some particular aspect of what He requires of us. I have no misgivings about God, only about myself. None of us ever had misgivings about ourselves, we know exactly what we cannot do, but we do have misgivings about God. Our feelings get hurt at the idea that He can do what we cannot. This type of pious fraud will have a joy-stealing effect on a well-meaning Christians if left unchecked—until spiritual sobriety arrives. 

Is it really possible for a man to grasp God’s own purposes, and taking His humility and His faith, His love and His power, will, without ceasing continue to let God do great things for him and through him?  In an address given to ministers and workers after his ninetieth birthday, George Mueller, the English Evangelist, had this to say of himself: 

“I was converted in November, 1825, but I only came into the full surrender of the heart four years later, in July, 1829. The love of money was gone, the love of place was gone, the love of position was gone, and the love of worldly pleasures and engagements was gone. God, God alone became my portion. I found my all in Him; I wanted nothing else. And by the grace of God this has remained, and has made me a happy man, an exceedingly happy man, and it led me to care only about the things of God. I ask affectionately, my beloved brethren, have you fully surrendered your heart to God, or is there this thing or that thing with which you are taken up irrespective of God? I read a little of the Scriptures before, but preferred other books; but since that time the revelation He has made of Himself has become unspeakably blessed to me, and I can say from my heart, God is an infinitely lovely Being. Oh, be not satisfied until in your own inner-most soul you can say, God is an infinitely lovely Being! 

There is no limit to what God can do with a man, providing he will let go of his inferiority complex and trust God. “The eyes of the Lord are upon the righteous, and His ears are open unto their cry” (Psalms 34:15). If we detect any misgivings in ourselves, let us bring them to the altar and confess them—“Lord I have had misgivings about You, I have not believed in your thoughts apart from my own, I have not believed in Your almighty power apart from my limited understanding of it. I pray Lord you will make me an extraordinary Christian this day.” 

“God looks down from heaven upon the children of men, to see if there are any who understand, who seek God” (Psalms 53:2). We limit the Holy One by remembering what we have allowed Him to do for us in the past. Beware of the tendency to sink back and say “It can’t be done,” you know it can be done if you look to Jesus. Just as we come to Jesus as a Comforter and Sympathizer we can come to Him as Almighty God. Be blessed and bless someone in Jesus’ name. Blessing and glory and wisdom, thanksgiving and honor and power and might, be to our God forever and ever. Amen. 

Grady Norman Greene, Minister of the Gospel of Jesus Our Christ

About The Third Cross Congregation of Jesus Our Christ

I am a "Man of God, With No Regrets" in service to Him through service to His people as a Minister of the Gospel of Jesus Our Christ. I pray to the Father: "Lord let me live in service to You, die in peace with You, and be raised up in Christ Jesus to be spend Eternity with You." Amen. Grady Norman Greene Presiding Minister of the Gospel of Jesus Our Christ The Third Cross Congregation of Jesus Our Christ
This entry was posted in Prayers and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lord I Have Misgivings

  1. more power to you and your blog, hoping to read more of your works next time

Comments are closed.