What Is His Name?

 “And Moses said unto God, Behold, when I come unto the children of Israel, and shall say unto them, The God of your fathers hath sent me unto you; and they shall say to me, What is his name? What shall I say unto them? And God said unto Moses, I AM THAT I AM:  and he said, Thus shalt thou say unto the children of Israel, I AM has sent me unto you” (Exodus 3:13-14).

I believe that it is my responsibility, as a Minister of the Gospel of Jesus Our Christ, to be faithful to proclaim the Word of God to the people of God through the power of the Spirit of God. The Word of God rightly interpreted, defines the truth. A clear understanding of God’s word forms the convictions that shape our lives and leads to deep affection for divine truth. A healthy Christian is one that is motivated by a deep affection for God and His word and really knows what it means to love Him. 

In the Hebrew language a name held much more significance than in English today. It expressed the nature, character, or purpose of that which it named. It is critical that we grasp as much as we can about the One who created us, loves and died for us, and waits for the fulfillment of all things promised. We can uncover a wealth of insight into the nature of God by looking at His different names and how they express His character. The more we know about God, the better He looks.

You cannot love what you don’t know or don’t understand and too many Christians know of God but do not know Him. “Therefore my people shall know my name” (Isaiah 52:6) In other words, the degree to which you will experience life-changing worship is directly related to the depth of your comprehension of God as divine truth. Those who understand God and the Gospel the deepest are the ones who worship with the greatest exaltation (high praise) and exhilaration (high feeling). In our relationships we go through a “getting to know you” phase, with God we must learn and understand his attributes—the defining characteristics that make Him who He is, God all by Himself.

Pause for a moment and take in the first and last names on the list, Elohim and Yahweh,” the Creator and I Am That I Am. God the Creator is love and He is God all by himself, what a wonderful God we serve. In full confidence in the character of God, we humbly offer the praise and glory of the saints to Him today, tomorrow and always. “Let all the earth fear the Lord: let all the inhabitants of the world stand in awe of him” (Psalms 33:8). Be blessed and bless someone in Jesus’ name. 

Grady Norman Greene, Minister of the Gospel of Jesus Our Christ

 

About The Third Cross Congregation of Jesus Our Christ

I am a "Man of God, With No Regrets" in service to Him through service to His people as a Minister of the Gospel of Jesus Our Christ. I pray to the Father: "Lord let me live in service to You, die in peace with You, and be raised up in Christ Jesus to be spend Eternity with You." Amen. Grady Norman Greene Presiding Minister of the Gospel of Jesus Our Christ The Third Cross Congregation of Jesus Our Christ
This entry was posted in Inspirational and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What Is His Name?

  1. Mauro Diven says:

    Do you have any reference or books? I just wondered you how you made this blog posts?

    REPLY: I use three reference books, The Holy Bible, Strong’s Concordance and Smith’s Bible Dictionary.
    The posts are inspired by the Spirit of God, many days I have no idea what I will write until I began to
    put pen to paper. Thank you for your interest.

Comments are closed.