No Eye Has Seen

“Eye has not seen, nor ear heard, nor have entered into the heart of man the things which God has prepared for those who love Him” (I-Corinthians 2:9)

Today, I’m going to share another “Oprah Moment” with you my friends, you know one  of those rare moments where you reveal a secret to Ms. Winfrey that you have kept to yourself. I have been hurting, my spirit has been vexed and I have a headache, doesn’t seem like much of a revelation does it? It gets better, the cause of this great discomfort started on last Thursday with the posting of comments on Facebook involving a total stranger and yours truly. Under normal circumstances this would not have bothered me so much, but this young woman touched a spiritual nerve.

The exchange began with a comment about how we ask God for the things we want, which I have no problem I do my fair share of asking. It is how you ask, the tone, the attitude that makes all the difference down here on earth and up in Heaven. I am not easily offended but this particular case offended me deeply as a child of God and Minister of the Gospel of Jesus. Here’s the statement that offended me: “He really should give us what we ask for first because sometimes that is all we want. I don’t want anything that is going to make me unhappy even if it’s God’s best.” The double part of insistence and arrogance was more than my spirit could bear.

My response: “We cannot treat God like a store clerk, walk up and ask for what you want and expect to have it passed to you. Believers are in a quid-pro-quid (something-for-something) relationship with God. He offers His best—blessings, and we give Him our best—worship and glory. God only offers two things, blessings and curses there is no gray area. Because of His tender mercy and understanding us better than we understand Him, He gives us the choice of embracing the blessing or rejecting it. Reject the blessings of God and you are left with curses.” I believe this whole-heartedly and if I am wrong I am willing to be corrected.

The attitude “God ought to be glad He made me” is beyond my spiritual, physical or mental comprehension. Today, selfishness dominates this “I-based society,” the Me-My generation has taken over with a visible lack of gratitude and an exaggerated arrogance that has blinded many to the necessity of humility toward God. You must “humble yourself under the mighty hand of God” to receive the greatest of his blessings—Jesus Christ as your Lord and Savior. For any would-be Christian person to have the audacity to say to a global Facebook audience “I don’t want anything from God that is going to make me unhappy even if it’s God’s best,” was enough for me to question their Christian sanity, and I did! 

Abraham believed God, and it was accounted to him for righteousness” (James 2:23). Faith is central to the Christian experience and relationship with God. In fact, without faith, there is no Christian experience or relationship. Why is faith so very important? Because without it we will not allow ourselves to be humble, nor can we make ourselves righteous—any more than a broken glass can make itself whole. We all have sinned and fallen short of the glory of God, only He can make us righteous, we need God more than God needs us. Holding to our faith in Him is the only thing we can do—and even our faith is a precious gift of God!

We cannot begin to imagine what God has prepared for us when we love and appreciate Him for who he is, God all by Himself. The ingrate and unfaithful “natural man does not receive the things of the Spirit of God, for they are foolishness to him, nor can he know them, because they are spiritually discerned” (I-Corinthians 2:14). Celebrate your relationship with the Lord Jesus Christ by offering Him praise and acknowledge God in every good thing. Be blessed and bless someone in Jesus’ name. 

Grady Norman Greene, Minister of the Gospel of Jesus Our Christ

About The Third Cross Congregation of Jesus Our Christ

I am a "Man of God, With No Regrets" in service to Him through service to His people as a Minister of the Gospel of Jesus Our Christ. I pray to the Father: "Lord let me live in service to You, die in peace with You, and be raised up in Christ Jesus to be spend Eternity with You." Amen. Grady Norman Greene Presiding Minister of the Gospel of Jesus Our Christ The Third Cross Congregation of Jesus Our Christ
This entry was posted in Testimonies and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to No Eye Has Seen

  1. I’m torn apart by your posts, they’re so sad indeed.
    REPLY: Leonel, Anyone who can talk about Jesus and the state of the world today without a bit of sadness in his heart isn’t thinking about either properly. Be blessed, I am happy on the inside!

  2. You alone run this blog? It must be a lonely work for you.
    REPLY: I am not alone and it is not lonely work! The peace and solitude, not to mention the gratification I get is priceless.

Comments are closed.