This Time In My Life

Do not cast me off in the time of old age; do not forsake me when my strength fails” (Psalms 71:9).           

King David was a middle-age man when he penned this Psalm, looking ahead to the day when he would no longer be the young and mighty man of valor that he was born to be. David had much to be happy for, foremost  in his mind he understood that he would not live forever. The king was smart to ask God to provide for him in his old-age while he was middle-age, he was planning ahead for a day we all pray will come. There is more to life than length, there is quality of life and David asked for God’s assurance that quality would be available in his old-age. Have you asked God to provide for you in your old-age? If not, stop whatever you’re doing and ask Him now……….

This is a story about a  92-year-old, petite, well-poised and proud man, who is  fully dressed each  morning  by eight o’clock, with his hair fashionably combed and  shaved  perfectly,  even though he is legally blind, moved to a nursing one  today.  His wife of 70-years recently passed away, making the move necessary. After many hours of waiting patiently in the lobby of the nursing home, he smiled sweetly when told his room was ready.  

As he maneuvered his walker to the elevator, the attendant provided a visual description of his tiny room, including the eyelet sheets that had been hung on his window. “I love it,” he stated with the enthusiasm of an eight-year-old having just been presented with a new puppy. The attendant was amazed, “Mr.  Jones, you haven’t seen the room, just wait,” she replied.  The elderly gentleman quickly responded; “That doesn’t have anything to do with it. Happiness is something you decide on ahead of time. Whether I like my room or not doesn’t depend on how the furniture is arranged….it’s how I arrange my mind. I already decided to love it.” Pausing for a second he continued, “It’s a decision I make every morning when I wake up. I have a choice; I can spend the day in bed recounting the difficulty I have with the parts of my body that no longer work, or get out of bed and be thankful for the ones that do. Each day is a gift, and as long as my eyes open, I’ll focus on the new day and all the happy memories I’ve stored away, just for this time in my life.” 

Old age is like a bank account, you withdraw from what you’ve put in, nothing more. So, my advice to you would be to deposit a lot of happiness in the bank account of memories! Thank you for your part in filling my Memory Bank, I am still making deposits. Remember The Five Rules of Happiness: 1. Free your heart from the chains of hatred, 2. Free your mind from worry about things beyond your control, 3. Live the good and simple life within your means, 4. Give more to those who have less and 5. Expect less from those who have more. This sounds simple and really is, it is a realization that we can be happy because it is God’s will.

God wants you to be happy at this time in your life. It is a gift from Him you have to choose to receive it ahead of time. Have a nice day, unless you already have other plans. Be blessed and bless someone in Jesus’ name.

 Grady Norman Greene, Minister of the Gospel of Jesus Our Christ

About The Third Cross Congregation of Jesus Our Christ

I am a "Man of God, With No Regrets" in service to Him through service to His people as a Minister of the Gospel of Jesus Our Christ. I pray to the Father: "Lord let me live in service to You, die in peace with You, and be raised up in Christ Jesus to be spend Eternity with You." Amen. Grady Norman Greene Presiding Minister of the Gospel of Jesus Our Christ The Third Cross Congregation of Jesus Our Christ
This entry was posted in Testimonies and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.