Someday and One Day

“Do not boast about tomorrow’ for you do not know what a day may bring forth” (Proverbs27:1).                                                                                                                                        I have often said that one of God’s most wise decisions was the decision not to give man the ability to see into the future. Although, there are some who would have you to believe they can, I’m not convinced. Can you imagine the chaos that would be created if we knew bad things were going to happen to us at a specific time or place? I am fully convinced that we would do everything in our power to try and prevent it from happening. However, I believe there are some things that make us better because we do not have advance knowledge and in some cases a lack of awareness period. God knew what He was doing!

Today, I’m sharing an experience that a friend shared with me about an episode in one of his friend’s life. There is a powerful message here for all this Christmas Holiday Season: 

       A friend of mine opened his wife’s underwear drawer and picked up a silk paper wrapped package: “This, he said, isn’t any ordinary package.” He unwrapped the box and stared at both the silk paper and the box. “She got this the first time we went to New York, 8 or 9-years ago. She has never put it on, was saving it for a special occasion, well, I guess this is it!” He got near the bed and placed the gift box next to the other clothing he was taking to the funeral house, his wife had just died.

He turned to me and said: “Never save something for a special occasion. Every day in your life is a special occasion.” I still think of how those words changed my life it brings a scripture to mind: “For we brought nothing into this world, and it is certain we can carry nothing out.” (I-Timothy 6:7 KJV) Now I read more and clean less. I sit on the porch without worrying about anything. I spend more time with my family, and less at work. I understood that life should be a source of experiences to be lived up to, not survived through. I no longer keep anything. I use crystal glasses every day…I’ll wear new clothes to go to the supermarket, if I feel like it. I don’t save my special cologne for special occasions I use it whenever I want to.

The words “Someday and One Day” are fading away from my vocabulary. If it’s worth seeing, hearing or doing, I want to see, hear or do it now. I don’t know what my friend’s wife would have done if she knew she wouldn’t be there the next morning, this nobody can tell. I think she might have called her relatives and closest friends. She might have called old friends and family members to make peace over past quarrels. I would like to think she would go out for Chinese, her favorite food. It’s these small things that I would regret not doing, if I knew my time had come.

Each day, each hour, each minute, is special. Live for today, tomorrow is promised to no-one. “For man also does not know his time.” (Ecclesiastes 9:12 NKJV) Take a moment, spend some time with someone you love or care for today and your life will improve. Although the Christmas holiday season is one of the most joyous it is not promised that we will see it. Personally, a neighbor and a dear loved one that shared last Christmas are absent this year, and I doubt if either one would have thought that they would not be here to celebrate Christmas 2010. It is a true saying “life goes on,” but only so long and so far. Be blessed and encouraged, you are highly favored, and deeply loved!!!

Grady Norman Greene, Minister of the Gospel of Jesus Our Christ

About The Third Cross Congregation of Jesus Our Christ

I am a "Man of God, With No Regrets" in service to Him through service to His people as a Minister of the Gospel of Jesus Our Christ. I pray to the Father: "Lord let me live in service to You, die in peace with You, and be raised up in Christ Jesus to be spend Eternity with You." Amen. Grady Norman Greene Presiding Minister of the Gospel of Jesus Our Christ The Third Cross Congregation of Jesus Our Christ
This entry was posted in Holy Days and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Someday and One Day

  1. So this is the delicacy your posting about, nice.

Comments are closed.