Remembering 9-Eleven

“O’Lord. I know the way of man is not in himself. It is not in man who walks to direct his own steps. O’Lord, correct me, but with justice; not in Your anger, lest You bring me to nothing” (Jeremiah 10:23-24).

Ten years are a long time unless, you are a victim, survivor, relative or friend of one of the nearly three thousand Americans who lost their lives on September 11, 2001. Memories of that tragic day linger in my mind as if it were ten minutes ago. I was getting dressed to head out for work and as ironic as it seems today, I worked at Hartsfield International Airport in Atlanta, Georgia. I remember the odd mixture of emotions and thoughts racing through my heart and mind. What in the hell is going on?

After the surprise bombing of Pearl Harbor, Hawaii on December 7, 1941 Americans have believed an incident like this could and would never  happen again, we were wrong. Two commercial airliners revealed to the world, America and Americans everywhere that we are neither invincible nor invulnerable. Shock, panic, outrage and sadness were the tossed salad of emotions we experienced on that dreadful morning, it must have been the same for many sixty years earlier.

“We are troubled on every side, yet not distressed, we are perplexed, but   not in despair; persecuted but not forsaken, cast down but not destroyed. Always bearing about in the body the dying of the Lord Jesus, that the life   of Jesus might be made manifest in our body” (II-Corinthians 4:8-10).

Today our hearts bleed emotions filled with angered remembrance and a hopeful optimism. We mourn the memory of loved ones, friends and countrymen that were lost. My heart goes out to their families and I pray that no one, anywhere will ever have to feel what we, as a nation, felt on that September morning.  I recall the words of President Abraham Lincoln: “America will never be destroyed from the outside. If we falter and lose our freedoms, it will be because we destroyed ourselves.” May God bless the United States of America, our friends and associates around the world.

“He that dwelleth in the secret place of the Most High shall abide under the shadow of the almighty” (Psalm 91:1).

Grady Norman Greene, Minister of the Gospel of Jesus Our Christ

About The Third Cross Congregation of Jesus Our Christ

I am a "Man of God, With No Regrets" in service to Him through service to His people as a Minister of the Gospel of Jesus Our Christ. I pray to the Father: "Lord let me live in service to You, die in peace with You, and be raised up in Christ Jesus to be spend Eternity with You." Amen. Grady Norman Greene Presiding Minister of the Gospel of Jesus Our Christ The Third Cross Congregation of Jesus Our Christ
This entry was posted in Inspirational and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Remembering 9-Eleven

  1. Windom2804 says:

    Outstanding post, you have pointed out some good details, I also believe this is a very good website.

  2. Karol Mroz says:

    I appreciate your efforts on posting this great blog

Comments are closed.