A or B, His Way or My Way

“O Lord I know the way of man is not in himself, it is not in man who walks to direct his own steps. O Lord, correct me but with justice; not in Your anger, lest you bring me to nothing” (Jeremiah 10:23-24).

I have never been a big Frank Sinatra fan, but I admire what he was able to accomplish as an entertainer, of all the songs Frank sang only one stands out in my mind, “My Way.” It is not because he won me over as a fan, but because of the way the lyrics speak so well to the mindset of modern humanity in general and Christian in particular. The most memorable line of the song is the hook, “I did it my way,” and that is exactly what it is a hook. It grabs you and holds you as you struggle in vain to break free, it just will not let you go. Or is it you that will not let the idea of doing it your way go?

It is a selfish determination found in every person, from the infant to the elderly, that drives us more than anything to have our way and to have it, whatever it maybe, our way. “All the ways of a man are pure in his own eyes, but the Lord weighs the spirit” (Proverbs 16:2). God’s word has purpose, the Ten Commandments and the Gospel have purpose; to serve as a yardstick for us to measure our behavior (thoughts and ways) against the clear marker of holiness God has laid down for us. The marker is a way that God continuously  speak to our hearts and spirit saying, it is a light thing that you shall be my servant.

The explosive growth in the number of churches, gospels and associations is a true indicator of the modern believers’ determination, as was our ancestors, to serve God on our terms, our way. In the Book of Isaiah God makes it clear that you cannot have Me and your ideas of having Me. He makes it clear His thoughts are not our thoughts, not even close. Also, our ways are not His ways. Why? I read the Bible, I go to Bible Study and I attend Sunday Service. Believe it or not my friends that is not enough! God says; “For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways, and my thoughts than your thoughts.” Why is this so?

Thus says the Lord; “Because I know that thou art obstinate, and thy neck is an iron sinew (muscle), and thy brow brass.” In other words God knows even if you have not come to the realization that you are stiff-necked and have a hard head, flat out refusing to heed that which is known.

I believe that most Christians are in one stage of denial or another when it comes to the ways of the Lord, we are blinded by self-determination—the desire to have Him our way. God says you cannot do it! You will never reach a level of holiness that will allow you to
be My equal, nor dictate the terms of your relationship with Me, says the Lord.

Woe unto him that strives with his maker! Too many Christians and Church leaders
have decided to challenge the word of God, the sovereignty of God and as difficult as it is to understand, some are challenging God Himself. How can this be? Because, they have not known nor understood, because he has shut their eyes and their hearts that they cannot see, they cannot understand. This group swear to a form of holiness and pledge allegiance to Him, truthfully, they neither know Him nor the power of His divine righteousness.

“A man’s mind plans his way, but the Lord directs his steps” (Proverbs 16:9). God gave man an opportunity to be in charge, to have dominion over the earth and everything on it. Unfortunately, Eve and Adam blew it in the Garden of Eden and man has been on a path that will either return him to right standing with God (His Way) or eternal damnation (My
Way). There is one thing that we can be certain of, surely as God has thought, so shall it come to pass, and as He has purposed so shall it stand. Do not waste your time trying to change what He has purposed. Amen.

Grady Norman Greene, Minister of The Gospel of Jesus Our Christ

About The Third Cross Congregation of Jesus Our Christ

I am a "Man of God, With No Regrets" in service to Him through service to His people as a Minister of the Gospel of Jesus Our Christ. I pray to the Father: "Lord let me live in service to You, die in peace with You, and be raised up in Christ Jesus to be spend Eternity with You." Amen. Grady Norman Greene Presiding Minister of the Gospel of Jesus Our Christ The Third Cross Congregation of Jesus Our Christ
This entry was posted in Inspirational and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A or B, His Way or My Way

  1. Please posts more, more inspiration posts

Comments are closed.