He Is Sweet I Know

“The Lord is slow to anger, and great in power, and will not acquit the wicked; the Lord hath His way in the whirlwind and storm, and the clouds are the dust of His feet” (Nahum 1:3).

This is a re-post of an earlier article I am posting these words of encouragement for my family and friends in Alabama, Georgia, Tennessee and Mississippi and other southeastern states of the USA. Dozens of tornadoes spawned by a powerful storm system wiped out entire towns across a wide part of the Southeast, killing at least 200-people in the deadliest outbreak in nearly 40-years, and officials said Thursday they expected the death toll to rise.

Tuscaloosa, Alabama was hit hard, it is about an hour’s drive from my hometown of Demopolis. I thank God that as far I know at this time, all is well for my family and friends living in the area. Alabama’s state emergency management agency said it had confirmed 131 deaths, while there were 32 in Mississippi, 15 in Tennessee, 13 in Georgia, eight in Virginia and one in Kentucky. The National Weather Service‘s Storm Prediction Center in Norman, Okla., said it received 137 tornado reports around the regions into Wednesday night.

We thank God that it was not more damaging and that more lives were not lost. We can always replace things, but life we pray for, and life more abundantly is God’s promise. As we go through the process of rebuilding and replacing things lost, I pray that you may remember these lines from the hymn “He Is Sweet I Know,” (“Dark clouds may rise, Strong winds may blow, I will tell the world wherever I go, He is sweet I know”). He is sweet I know. Here is the REPOST:

I relocated to New Orleans, Louisiana in 2006 to take part in the reconstruction after hurricanes Katrina and Rita had devastated the city. I was overwhelmed by the level of destruction, houses that were before homes lay in ruin, a jazzy lifestyle blown away, and the beauty of the Crescent City was utterly changed, it seemed as if it would never return. But God has His way of removing only that which needed to be removed and preserving that which He wanted preserved, He always has His way.

I remember, two years later, living in Baton Rouge watching from the banks of the mighty Mississippi River as Hurricane Ike entered the Gulf. The sky was filled with blackness, lightning flashed back and forth across the darkness and the earth was shaken by the voice of thunder. It seemed as though a terrible piece of history would be repeated and this fair city would suffer a similar destruction as its neighbor. Fortunately, the storm swept on
and passed out of the city with much less destruction than what had fallen upon New Orleans.

If I had stood in the same place on the following day, and said, “Where is that terrible storm, with all its terrible blackness?” the grass would have said, “Part of it is in me,” and the daisy would have said, “Part of it is in me,” and the fruits and flowers and everything that grows out of the ground would have said, “Part of the storm is growing in me.” Storms in our lives are God’s way of removing that which needs to be removed and preserving that which He wants preserved. He never will send a storm into your life that if you trust Him you cannot survive.

Believers must understand; “The Lord is good, a stronghold in the day of trouble; and He knoweth them that trust Him” (Nahum 1:7). There is no reason to fear the stormy tempest that is at this moment sweeping through your life. Your blessing is in the storm ask the grass, the daisy, the fruits and flowers. The sky darkens, the wind blows, the thunder roars and the rain falls, and when the storm has passed on, it is the glory of God that shines upon all that He has made.

Today is the first day of the rest of your life and so it was the day after the storms in both cities, wrecked by the power of God, but today they are prospering, having removed the storm’s debris and moved on. “I would hasten my escape from the windy storm and tempest” (Psalms 55:8). We cannot escape the will of God and it is His will to bring you safely through the storm, rebuild that which was lost and to prosper you for having survived the storm. May you be blessed by the Lord who made heaven and earth and bless someone in Jesus’ name. Amen.

Grady Norman Greene, Minister of the Gospel of Jesus Our Christ

About The Third Cross Congregation of Jesus Our Christ

I am a "Man of God, With No Regrets" in service to Him through service to His people as a Minister of the Gospel of Jesus Our Christ. I pray to the Father: "Lord let me live in service to You, die in peace with You, and be raised up in Christ Jesus to be spend Eternity with You." Amen. Grady Norman Greene Presiding Minister of the Gospel of Jesus Our Christ The Third Cross Congregation of Jesus Our Christ
This entry was posted in Inspirational and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.