Putting God To The Test

“And Gideon said unto him, O my Lord, if the Lord be with us, why then is all this befallen us? And where be all his miracles which our fathers told us of, saying ‘Did not the Lord bring us up from Egypt?’ but now the Lord has forsaken us, and delivered us into the hands of the Midianites (Judges 6:13).

The Lord sends messengers to us in many forms, sometime we recognize the messenger and heed the message other times we do not. The greater tragedy is not in failing to recognize the messenger or heeding the message, but in doubting both. Whenever there is doubt, stop at once, never try to reason it out and say—“I wonder why I should not believe?” God instructs us in what we choose, that is, the Spirit of God guides our common sense. We cannot play the blame game with God and win, He knows your circumstances and is ready to use you if He can separate you from your circumstances.

Modern Christians, like Gideon in his day, cannot bring themselves to believe God could call me to do anything, I am not worthy He cannot mean me? It does mean you and the more worthless and incapable you are the better. We have to be convinced by God Almighty that He wants us to do a thing, usually after we have rejected His messenger and message. We persist, God could not have meant me if He wants me to do it, He has to prove it! This kind of unbelief is what keeps too many Christians from saying—“I will serve the Lord,” without first putting God to the test.

“And Gideon said unto God, Let not thine anger be hot against me, and I will speak but this once; let me prove, I pray thee, but this once with the fleece; let it now be dry only upon the fleece, and upon all the ground let there be dew” (Judges 6:39). Our trust is in God to a certain point, then we become victims of human nature, doubt sets in, and we want proof. It would not seem beyond reason to ask God for assurance once maybe even twice, but a third request would tend to press a patient God’s tolerance. Gideon asked God three times to prove that it really was him He wanted to use. Some of us, not fully persuaded, continually ask God for assurance of His will.

Gideon’s behavior raise a question; “Was Gideon trying to convince himself that He could trust God or was Gideon trying to convince God He had chosen the wrong person for the task?” It is common human behavior to need a demonstration by God that we can have absolute confidence in Him before we submit to His will. We demand a guarantee He will not fall asleep at the wheel and leave us to negotiate the road alone. God deals with our lack of confidence with patience and tenderness recognizing our human frailties, as well as, His awesome power over our life.

Like Gideon, we may not say it but we are thinking “If I really could believe!” The point is—“If  you really will believe!” No wonder Jesus place such heavy emphasis on the sin of unbelief, “And He did not many mighty works there because of their unbelief.” If we really believed God meant what He said—what would we be like? Dare I really let God prove to me all He says He will do, without putting Him to the test?

The grace of the Lord Jesus Christ, and the love of God, and the communion of the Holy Ghost be with you all. Amen.

Grady Norman Greene, Minister of the Gospel of Jesus Our Christ

About The Third Cross Congregation of Jesus Our Christ

I am a "Man of God, With No Regrets" in service to Him through service to His people as a Minister of the Gospel of Jesus Our Christ. I pray to the Father: "Lord let me live in service to You, die in peace with You, and be raised up in Christ Jesus to be spend Eternity with You." Amen. Grady Norman Greene Presiding Minister of the Gospel of Jesus Our Christ The Third Cross Congregation of Jesus Our Christ
This entry was posted in Inspirational and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Putting God To The Test

  1. Boyce Felix says:

    I do regularly visit and read your blog, it reminds me of my mom, who always talk about life to me.

Comments are closed.