Happy Brothers Day

“If someone says, “I love God,” and hates his brother, he is a liar; for he who does not love his brother whom he has seen, how can he love God whom he has not seen?” (I-John 4:20)

A dear friend and Brother sent me the message below earlier in the week to my surprise wishing me a Happy Brothers’ Day (December 7th) I had no idea that “Brothers” had their own day. I should not have been surprised since everyone and everything seems to get a day for celebration these days, the groundhogs are probably the most outrageous. Okay, now that I’m in the know, let me wish the brothers (all men) A Happy Brothers Day. Here’s the greeting from my brother Bryan forwarded by one of the “Four Michaels” I count as my dear brothers:

 Happy Brothers Day,

Be the kind of man who when your feet hit the floor each morning the Devil says, “Oh crap, he’s up!” Brother, life is too short to wake up with regrets. So love the people who treat you right and forgive the ones who don’t just because you can. Believe everything happens for a reason and if you get a second chance, grab it with both hands. If it changes your life, let it. Take a few minutes to think before you act especially when you’re mad. Forgive quickly. God never said life would be easy, He just promised it would be worth it. Today is Brother’s day, send this to all your brothers, fathers and sons. 

Happy Brothers Day! I LOVE YA BROTHER!!! To the cool men that have touched my life. Here’s to you!! A real Brother walks with you when the rest of the world walks on you. 

Your Brother always, Bryan 

Thanks Bryan and Michael (Mike). My Mother used to say “a good friend is better than a brother.” This puzzled me for a longtime, and as I grew older and had to deal with sibling issues, stupid disagreements and long periods of separation, the meaning became clear. It is amazing how often we allow the small things to cause us to behave in such “non-Christian” ways (anything other than like brothers). 

I take Bryan’s message to heart, especially the part about forgiving the ones that don’t treat you right just because you can. I like that part, just because I can, maybe it’s the rebel in me or the love of Christ that dwells in me, I can forgive anyone just because I can, how much more Christ-like can a Christian be than that? Of course I know the answer, but sometime as Christians we rebel against the love of Christ that dwells within us only to regret it later. 

Here’s how I feel about my Mother’s proverb, “a good friend may be better to you than a brother,” sometime, but blessed is the person that has a brother that is also a good friend. Taking the thought one step further, more blessed are you should you have a friend that loves and respect you as a brother and that you can love and respect as a friend and brother. I am blessed to have the best of both, good friends and good brothers. Happy Belated Brothers Day!!!! Be blessed and bless someone in Jesus’ name.

Grady Norman Greene, Minister of the Gospel of Jesus Our Christ

About The Third Cross Congregation of Jesus Our Christ

I am a "Man of God, With No Regrets" in service to Him through service to His people as a Minister of the Gospel of Jesus Our Christ. I pray to the Father: "Lord let me live in service to You, die in peace with You, and be raised up in Christ Jesus to be spend Eternity with You." Amen. Grady Norman Greene Presiding Minister of the Gospel of Jesus Our Christ The Third Cross Congregation of Jesus Our Christ
This entry was posted in Events and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Happy Brothers Day

  1. Freizeit says:

    What’s Taking place? I am new to this, I stumbled upon this and it is absolutely helpful and has helped me out loads. I am hoping to contribute & help others like its aided me. Good job.

Comments are closed.